Early voting started February 20th

Voters in East Harris County can now vote early for the Primary Election, at the following locations:

– Crosby Branch Library, 135 Hare Road

– North Channel Branch Library, 15741 Wallisvillle Road, North Channel

– Baytown Community Center, 2407 Market Street, Baytown

– Galena Park Library, 1500 Keene St.

– Downtown, Harris County Law Library, 1019 Congress Avenue

Early Voting Hours are:

– Feb. 20 – Feb. 23, 8 am – 4:30 pm

– Feb. 24, 7am – 7pm

– Feb. 25, 1pm – 6pm

– Feb. 26 – March 2, 7am – 7pm

The Primary Election Day is Tuesday, March 6. Polls will be open 7 am – 7pm. You may vote either Democratic or Republican ballot, but not both.

Voters will be choosing a US Senator, US Congressmen, Texas Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Attorney General, and various department commissioners. Additionally there are State Senators, Representatives, and Justice of the Peace on the ballot. The Democrats have 12 non-binding Propositions for your opinion. Leading contenders on the Republican ballot are US Senate Ted Cruz vs. 4 other opponents, US House District TX-29 (Gene Green’s seat), 4 contenders, US House TX-36 Brian Babin vs. no Republican opponents, TX Governor Greg Abbott vs. 2 contenders, Lt. Governor Dan Patrick vs. Scott Milder, Attorney General Ken Paxton unopposed, Commissioner of General Land Office George P. Bush vs. Jerry Patterson and 2 others, State Rep. District 127 Dan Huberty vs. Reginald Grant, Jr., District 128 Briscoe Cain unopposed, Harris County Pct. 2 Commissioner Jack Morman unopposed on the Republican ballot, and the Republican ballot has 11 Propositions for voters to express their opinion.

On the Democratic ballot, interesting races include US Senate Beto O’Rourke vs. 2 opponents, US House Sheila Jackson Lee vs. Richard Johnson, and the most contested race, US House TX-29, with 7 Democratic contenders (as well as the 4 Republicans) Tahir Javed, Dominique Garcia, Sylvia Garcia, Hector Morales, Roel Garcia, Pedro Valencia, Augustine Reyes. No doubt there will need to be a runoff, on May 22nd.

Other positions on the ballot are US House TX-36, Dayna Steele, Jon Powell. For Governor, there are 9 contenders, State Senate District 15 John Whitmire and 2 contenders, well-known State Representatives Armando Walle (D-140) and Senfronia Thompson (D-141) are running unopposed, in D-142 Harold Dutton, Jr. is opposed by Richard Bonton, District 143 Ana Hernandez is unopposed, County School Trustee Pos. 3 At Large Richard Cantu vs 2 contenders, Harris County Pct. 2 Commissioner (against incumbent Jack Morman) Ken Melancon, Gager Garcia, Danial Box, Adian Garcia. for Justice of the Peace Pct. 3 Pos. 2, Don Coffey vs. Lucia Bates. The Democratic ballot also has 12 Propositions for consideration.