Press "Enter" to skip to content

North Shore Rotary installs new officers

NORTH SHORE ROTARY held their Annual Installation banquet to install new officers and board members. Seen above at right is Judge Lucia Bates, swearing in the new president, Shawn Silman (in the hat). Others sworn in include Ken Wimbley, president-elect, Lee Brown, secretary, Danna Nino, treasurer, and board members Fred Saunders, Alan Wolcik, Joe Coleman, Jared Dagley, and Mini Izaguirre.

By Gilbert Hoffman

North Shore Rotary held their annual Installation Ceremony and Awards Banquet last Friday, June 11 at Monument Inn. Attending were club members and their families, and members of District 5890.

District 5890 guests included Director of Rotary International Suzi Howe and husband Bill, District Governor Scott Rainey and wife Martha, District Governor Elect Michelle Bohreer, and District Governor nominees Mindy Snyder and Heather Rimatto. Also attending was Assistant District Governor Brian Clements from the Galena Park/Jacinto City club.

New officers that were sworn in include President Shawn Silman, Pres-elect Ken Wimbley, Secretary Lee Brown, and Treasurer Danna Nino.

Board members that were installed include Fred Saunders, Alan Wolcik, Joe Coleman, Jared Dagley, and Mini Izaguirre.

Awards to board members for two years of service included Eugene Dagley, Eddie Miller, Matt Davis, Beau Burris, and Bill Hendrix.

A number of awards were presented by outgoing president Lowell Everitt. Named Rotarian of the Year was Danna Nino.

A Rookie of the Year award went to Mini Izaguirre, Sargeant of Arms awards to Derrill Painter and Mike Bilnoski, and Director of Community Service award to Matt Davis.

In honor of the deceased member and past president Bill Bowes, two scholarships known as the Bill Bowes Maritime Scholarships were awarded to Juan Montalvo and Sutton Eddins. These young men are working toward degrees in the maritime induestry at the new San Jacinto Maritime College.